Monday, August 22, 2011

Calssification of traumatic dental injuries...with 2 dental injuries lecture notes.


There are numerous classification systems currently available for TDI (Table 1).  Andreasen’s classification is a modification of the World Health Organization’s (WHO) and contains 19 groups that include injuries to the teeth, supporting structures, gingiva and oral mucosa. Unlike the WHO classification, the socket and fractures of the mandible or maxilla are not grouped under oral injuries, but rather are classified separately as fractures of face bones. It is a very comprehensive system which allows for minimal subjective interpretations .
The WHO classification of oral trauma describes injuries to the internal structures of the mouth and incorporates of a broad group “other injuries including laceration of oral soft tissues”. García-Godoy’s classification is also a modification of the WHO system. This classification differs from others mainly because it separates dental fractures into those which involve cementum and those which do not. Moreover, there are no groupings for subluxation or alveolar injuries and mandible or maxilla fractures.
The Ellis classification is another modification of the WHO system. This system is a simplified classification which groups many injuries and allows for subjective interpretation by including broad terms such as “simple” or “extensive” fractures. Injuries to the alveolar socket and fractures of the mandible and maxilla are not classified here.

A video On Dental Trauma

1 comment:

  1. free ad posting classified lists



+1 this blog

you might also like

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...